Hong Kong Sevens

2013-2014 Sevens World Series

No ALT tag specified

The HSBC Sevens World Series, previously known as the IRB Sevens World Series, consists of nine tournaments held around the world between October and May.

National Sevens teams compete for World Series points at each round, with winners in the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield crowned at each location.

An overall HSBC Sevens World Series champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the nine events.

There are 15 'core' teams who participate at each round of the Series and, starting from the 2012/2013 season promotion and relegation from this ever-present status came into effect, giving each team competing in regional competition a direct opportunity to qualify to compete regularly at the highest level.

In the first season with relegation and promotion Portugal, Spain and Scotland managed to re-qualify their status.

The 2012/13 World Series winners and reigning champions are New Zealand, who have won the Series 11 times in all and are also now the reigning Rugby World Cup Sevens champions,having won the title in Moscow in June 2013.

The other nations to have won the Series are Fiji (2005/06), South Africa (2008/09) and Samoa (2009/10).

For more information on the HSBC Sevens World Series, please refer to

Round 1 12-13 October 2013 Australia
Round 2 29-30 November 2013 Dubai
Round 3 07-08 December 2013 South Africa
Round 4 24-26 January 2014 USA
Round 5 07-8 February 2014 New Zealand
Round 6 22-23 March 2014 Japan
Round 7 28-30 March 2014 Hong Kong
Round 8 03-04 May 2014 Scotland
Round 9 10-11 May 2014 England
Name the Dragon

Ticket Marketplace

The place to sell HK Sevens tickets if you are no longer able to attend
Hong Kong Team


Directions to Hong Kong Stadium


See the full schedule for this year's event
© 2015 Content Hong Kong Rugby Union Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM